Scroll to content
Woodlands Academy of Learning home page Woodlands Academy of Learning home page

‘Together We Strive For Excellence’


The current Governing Body at Woodlands Academy of Learning for 2022 – 2023 is as follows:

Community Governors

  • Mr R Lawrence (Chair)
  • Miss K Glanville
  • Mrs S Spriggs
  • Mr J Whitehouse


LA Governor

  • Mrs M McGrath


Co-opted Governor

  • Mr S Simpson (Vice Chair)
  • Mrs D Sims


Parent Governors

  • Mrs E Bate
  • Mr I Whitehouse


Staff Governors

  • Mrs T Newton (Headteacher)
  • Mrs J Jackson (Assistant Headteacher)
  • Mrs J Graham (Pastoral Team and Safeguarding)





  • Mrs Lowe
  • Mr D Wills
  • Mr M Reid
  • Mr R Eynon


Governance Structure



Trustee Registers of Business & Pecuniary Interest 2021/2022

Trustees NameAppointment Date & term of OfficeType of TrusteeAppointed byBusiness Interest & DateCharity Trustee Details & DateTrustee/Gov     at Other Establishments & DateMember of professional body, organisation or Public body & DateContractual Link to Academy or Other Education Setting & DateRelationship to staff / pupils / trusteesSignedDate
Ellena Bate14/10/22 – 13/10/26Parent TrusteeParentsN/AN/AN/ANoneNoneParent of registered pupilsYes10/01/2023
Russell EynonDecember 2022MemberMembersCompany director Breakwells Paints Ltd and Arcs & SparksN/AN/ANoneNoneNoneYes30/09/2021
Kate Glanville01/09/19 – 31/08/23Community TrusteeBoard of TrusteesHead of Dept – BCU
Sept 2013
N/AN/AMember of Geographical AssociationWoodlands provide Teacher Training for BCU students via School DirectNoneYes26/09/2022
Jayne Graham19/10/21 – 18/10/25Staff TrusteeStaffNoneN/AN/ANonePastoral & Safeguarding Team


Sept 2010

Julia Jackson25/09/18 – 24/09/26Staff TrusteeStaffNoneN/aN/ANoneAssistant Head


Sept 2009

Robert Lawrence11/10/20 – 10/10/24Chair Community TrusteeBoard of TrusteesNone1. Dunston with Coppenhall PCC – April 2019


2. Hyde Lea & Coppenhall Village Hall July 2010

LGB member at Haughton St. Giles CE Primary Academy


Dec 2019 – Dec 2023

Lesley LoweJuly 2012 – 21/05/20 – 20/05/24Member – Associate GovernorMembers Board of TrusteesNoneN/AN/ANoneBloxwich AcademyNoneYes23/09/2021
Mary B McGrath17/03/2022 – 17/03/2026LA GovernorBoard of TrusteesNoneN/AN/ANoneNoneNoneYes22/09/2022
Tamsin NewtonAccounting OfficerHeadteacherBoard of TrusteesNoneNAHT





Sept 2015

Matthew ReidDecember 2021MemberMembersNoneN/AN/ANoneNoneNoneYes13/10/2022
Sam Simpson02/12/21 – 01/12/25Vice Chair
Co-opted Governor
Board of TrusteesRelationship Director, HSBC Bank


April 2022

N/AN/ANoneNoneParent of a registered pupil


Related to T Alves (Staff Member)

Diane Sims17/03/2022 – 17/03/2026Co-opted GovernorBoard of TrusteesNoneN/AN/AMember of – The Rotary Club, Willenhall



Susan Spriggs05/07/2022 – 04/07/2026Community TrusteeBoard of TrusteesNoneN/AN/ANoneNoneNoneYes22/09/2022
Ian Whitehouse28/11/20 – 27/11/24 Parent TrusteeParentsStaffordshire PoliceN/AN/ANoneNoneParent of a registered pupilYes01/12/2022
Joshua Whitehouse23/03/23 - 22/03/27Community TrusteeBoard of Trustees N/AN/ANoneNoneNone  
David WillsJuly 2012MemberMembersNoneN/AN/ANoneNoneNoneYes30/09/2022

Committee Members & Attendance 2021/2022 – 2022/2023

Full Board Meetings 
Ellena BatePPP
Russell EynonAXPAX
Kate GlanvillePPPPAPAP
Jayne GrahamPPPPPAPP
Natalia HillAPP
Julia JacksonPPPPPPPP
Robert LawrencePPPPPPPP
Lesley LowePXXAAXX
Lisa MaceyPPXA
MaryB McgrathPPPPP
Tamsin NewtonPPPPPPPP
Sam SimpsonPPAPPPP
Diane SimsPPPPPP
Susan SpriggsPPPPPPPA
Ian WhitehouseAPPAPPPP
Joshua WhitehousePA


Key: P = Present, A = Absent (Apologies), X = Absent (No Apologies), – = Attendance not Required


Finance, Staffing & Buildings Committee  
Russell EynonPPPX
Natalia HillPP
Robert LawrencePPPPPPP
Tamsin NewtonPPPPAPP
Sam SimpsonPPPPPP
Diane SimsPPPAP
Ian WhitehousePPAAPPA
Joshua WhitehousePP



Curriculum & Standards Committee
Ellena BatePA
Kate GlanvillePPAAPA
Jayne GrahamPPPPPP
Julia JacksonPPPPAA
Robert LawrencePPPPPP
Lesley LoweAAAXX
Lisa MaceyAAA
MaryB McGrathPXAA
Tamsin NewtonPPPPPP
Susan SpriggsPPPPPP